The browser you are using is not supported by this website. All versions of Internet Explorer are no longer supported, either by us or Microsoft (read more here:

Please use a modern browser to fully experience our website, such as the newest versions of Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari etc.

Pufendorf Chair

The Samuel Pufendorf Endowed Chair

About the Pufendorf Chair

Samuel Pufendorf (1632-1694) was a German legal scholar and theologian who was directly appointed to a professorship when Lund University was founded in 1666. He was a pioneer of modern humanism and international law. In 2002, a donation to establish a Pufendorf chair was made jointly by Torsten Söderberg and Ragnar Söderberg Foundations. The chair holder should work in the spirit of Samuel Pufendorf and promote the establishment of a global peaceful order. The Pufendorf chair is held by a professor at Lund University in the areas of economics, politics or law for a time period of four years.

Read more about Torsten Söderberg Foundation

Read more about Ragnar Söderberg Foundation

Current holder:

Former holders:

  • Karin Aggestam (2016-2020)
  • Gregor Noll (2012–2016)
  • Håkan Hydén (2008–2011)
  • Kjell Åke Modéer (2005–2007)
  • Aleksander Peczenik (2003–2004)

Research project: Peace and Diplomacy of Justice


  1. Karin Aggestam and Jacqui True, 2020 (forthcoming), Political Leadership and Gendered Multilevel Games in Foreign Policy. International Affairs. 
  2. Karin Aggestam and Jacqui True, 2020, Gendering Foreign Policy: A Comparative Framework for Analysis Foreign Policy Analysis. Vol 16, No. 2 [Open Access]
  3. Karin Aggestam and Jacqui True, guest editors, 2020, Special Issue: Gender and Foreign Policy, Foreign Policy AnalysisVol 16, No. 2.
  4. Karin Aggestam and with Annika Bergman Rosamond, 2019, Feminist Foreign Policy 3.0. Advancing Ethics and Gender Equality in Global Politics . SAIS Review of International Affairs. Vol 39, No.1: 37-48.
  5. Karin Aggestam & Ann Towns, 2019, The Gender Turn in Diplomacy: A New Research Agenda, International Feminist Journal of Politics  [Open Access], Vol 21, No. 1: 9-28.
  6. Karin Aggestam and Lisa Strömbom, 2019, Peacebuilding in the Middle EastRoutledge Handbook on Middle East Security, edited by Anders Jägerskog, Michael Schulz, Ashok Swain
  7. Karin Aggestam, 2019, WPS, peace agreements and negotiations, Oxford University Press Handbook on Women, Peace, Security, edited by Sara Davies and Jacqui True.
  8. Karin Aggestam, Annika Bergman Rosamond, Annica Kronsell, 2019, Theorising Feminist Foreign Policy, Journal of International Relations [Open Access]
  9. Karin Aggestam and  Annika Bergman Rosamond, 2019, Re-politicising the Gender-Security Nexus. Sweden's Feminist Foreign Policy. European Review of International Studies [Open Access]. Special Issue: "The Politicisation of Security". Volume 5, Issue 3: 30-48.
  10. International Panel on Social Progress, 2018, Violence, wars, peace, security Rethinking Society for the 21st Century. Report of the International Panel on Social Progress, 3 Volume Paperback Set. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 
  11. Karin Aggestam & Ann Towns, eds., 2018, Gendering Diplomacy and International Negotiation Basingstoke: Palgrave
  12. Karin Aggestam, 2018, Depoliticisation, water and environmental peacebuilding, Routledge Handbook of Environmental Conflict and Peacebuilding, edited by Ashok Swain and Joakim Öjendahl.
  13. Karin Aggestam and Isak Svensson, 2018, Where are the women in peace mediation? in Gendering diplomacy and international negotiation, Karin Aggestam & Ann Towns. Basingstoke: Palgrave Macmillan.
  14. Karin Aggestam & Kristine Höglund, eds., 2017, Om Krig och fred. En introduktion till freds- och konfliktstudierLund: Studentlitteratur (2 upplagan)
  15. Karin Aggestam and Ann Towns, 2017, Diplomacy - a gendered institution, Diplomacy in a Globalising World, Pauline Kerr and George Wiseman, eds., Oxford: Oxford University Press.
  16. Karin Aggestam and Tim Dunne, 2016, The failure of diplomacy and protection in SyriaForeign Policy: Theories, Actors, CasesSteve Smith, Amelia Hadfield, Tim Dunne (eds). Oxford: Oxford University Press.
  17. Karin Aggestam, 2016, Diplomatic mediationThe SAGE Handbook of Diplomacy, Costas Constantinou, Pauline Kerr, Paul Sharp, eds.
  18. Karin Aggestam, 2016, Genus, medling och fredsdiplomati, i Jenny Björkman, red. RJ:s årsbok 2016 . Stockholm: Makadam förlag.
  19. Karin Aggestam and Annika Bergman Rosamond, 2016, Swedish feminist foreign policy in the making: Ethics, politics and gender. Ethics and International Affairs, Vol. 30, Issue 3, Fall. [Editors' pick for the 30th Anniversary Issue Selection]

Former holder

Karin Aggestam

Karin Aggestam
Holder of the Pufendorf Chair 2016-2020

E-mail: karin [dot] aggestam [at] svet [dot] lu [dot] se
Twitter: @KarinAggestam

Outreach (selected)